Forums > Personal > Bruce Springsteen "Magic" October 2, 2007

forum rss feed
Author user not visiting
Peace NetBud
Bohemian: 279 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 16 Aug 07, 16:18 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

'Magic,' Bruce Springsteen's new studio recording and his first with the E Street Band in five years, is set for release by Columbia Records on October 2, 2007. Produced and mixed by Brendan O'Brien, the album features eleven new Springsteen songs and was recorded at Southern Tracks Recording Studio in Atlanta, GA.

'Magic' Song Titles:

1. Radio Nowhere
2. You'll Be Comin' Down
3. Livin' in the Future
4. Your Own Worst Enemy
5. Gypsy Biker
6. Girls in Their Summer Clothes
7. I'll Work for Your Love
8. Magic
9. Last to Die
10. Long Walk Home
11. Devil's Arcade

'Magic' is the first new studio album by Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band since 2002's GRAMMY Award-winning, multi-platinum, number one album 'The Rising' (Columbia Records), which was also produced by O'Brien.

Bruce Springsteen's longtime manager Jon Landau said, "'Magic' is a high energy rock CD. It's light on its feet, incredibly well played by Bruce and the members of the E Street Band, and, as always, has plenty to say. It's also immensely entertaining. 'Magic' is the third collaboration between Bruce and Brendan O'Brien and is a culmination of their very productive creative relationship."

Read Rolling Stone's article with more details about 'Magic.'

From Rolling Stone:

On October 2nd Bruce Springsteen will release Magic, his first album
with the E Street Band since 2002's The Rising. "We've been together
since 1974 and I don't think I've ever seen him more excited than he
is right now about this record," says Jon Landau, Springsteen's

The album was cut over two months at Southern Tracks studios in
Atlanta with producer Brendan O'Brien, who previously worked with
Springsteen on 2005's Devils & Dust and The Rising.

The E Street Band mostly flew down on weekends to record, while
Springsteen and O'Brien spent weekdays cutting vocals and recording
overdubs. "This album is E Street Band heavy," Landau says. "Clarence
[Clemons] has some great moments on it. You could say that it's as
little more sonically guitar-driven than any past Bruce album. There
are a few sort of pop, romantic touches that haven't shown up
recently, but were very prominent on the very early records."

The lead single will be "Radio Nowhere," a track Landau says "has a
real anthemic quality to it. If it doesn't get you out of your seat, I
don't know what will." Landau is particularly excited about "The Long
Walk Home," which was performed live (click here to listen to an
audience recording) on one occasion on the Seeger Sessions tour late
last year. "It's sort of the summational song of the album," Landau
says. "I think it's one of Bruce's great masterpieces." Another track,
"Girls in Their Summer Clothes," Landau says has a "little bit of a
Pet Sounds-type feeling mixed in with the sound of the E Street Band."
The final track, "Devil's Arcade," is described as one of the only
songs on the album that delves into politics. "He gets some images
across that are very powerful and will certainly give you a feeling of
where he's coming from, but on balance [politics] is not the primary
intention of this record."

A world tour with the E Street Band is reportedly going to kick off in
early October, but Landau remains tight-lipped on the details. "As we
speak, the tour has not been fully decided," he says. Springsteen is
also planning to promote the album on television, including late-night
talk shows.

"What do you think about us doing American Idol?" Landau asks. "Come
on, I'm kidding!"

Track Listing:

1. "Radio Nowhere"
2. "You'll Be Comin' Down"
3. "Livin' in the Future"
4. "Your Own

W. K. Mahler

Blog, photos, original music & more.

Yahoo Instant Messenger: mahlerscom

"Please remember you are absolutaly unique just like everyone else!"