Forums > Queen - General Discussion > do you think Queen would have been more popular if Freddie wasn't gay?

forum rss feed
Author

Queen+me user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 10 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 21 Feb 08, 21:34 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Hey just wondering how many ppl out there think Queen would have been more successful if Freddie wasn't gay

...assdude.... 39702 user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 307 posts

Posted: 21 Feb 08, 21:41 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

From my knowledge and observations, Freddie’s sexuality wasn’t that obvious in the 70’s. Many bands of the time dressed in a simular style, perhaps with more volume, and sexual ambiguity was in, looking like women in bands were in. Aerosmith, one of Americans most recognised and popular bands of all time had simular styles to Queen.

I think it was the music that really mattered above all. I wouldn’t say Freddie’s sexuality would have made a strong impact. Today, Queen is more popular than ever. But I could be mistaken.

Dusta user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 525 posts

Posted: 21 Feb 08, 22:19 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I certainly think that Freddie's sexuality was apparant to folks in the US in 79/80 or thereabouts, and, unfortunately, my observation is that it DID impact their popularity in the US. I'm not certain WHY folks in the US seemed to be more aware, and, obsessed in a negative way with this.

It is all random
ana_libra user not visiting Queenzone.com

Rocker: 44 posts

Posted: 22 Feb 08, 01:03 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Had Freddie not been gay, Queen wouldn't have existed... it was all him... the way he thought and the things he had to deal with, were all pretty much part of queen...

Queenman!! user not visiting Queenzone.com
Queenman!!
Bohemian: 931 posts