Forums > Personal > "Sunshine Lies" = Fantastic!

forum rss feed

Dan C. user not visiting
Dan C.
Royalty: 1544 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 04 Jul 08, 21:02 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I haven't been so excited about an album in a very, VERY long time, and yesterday, I got a lucky break. Someone was kind enough to give me an advance copy of Sunshine Lies; The new one from Matthew Sweet.

My anticipation was more than justified, and this is already among my favorite albums.

Anyone interested in taking a chance on something new, or who is already a Matthew Sweet fan can check out previews at these three sites: has two tracks in an external MP3 player toward the top of the page; has three others; and has short previews of all of the tracks.

The title track is pretty awesome. It sounds like something from the '60s. Susanna Hoffs makes a really cool cameo toward the middle.

The album will be released as a download, a CD, and a deluxe version with a two LP vinyl featuring four extra tracks as well as the CD.

Here is a listing of the tracks:

01 Time Machine
02 Room to Rock
03 Byrdgirl
04 Flying
05 Feel Fear
06 Let's Love
07 Sunshine Lies
08 Pleasure Is Mine
09 Daisychain
10 Sunrise Eyes
11 Around You Now
12 Burn Through Love
13 Back of My Mind
14 Dark Blue *
15 Badass *
16 Could You Need Me? *
17 When You're Gone *

* LP-only bonus track

There's more info on for those interested. Anyway, I hope you all enjoy it! I'm of to give it another spin!

"The tri-tone is the Devil's interval, and he demands resolution." - Richard Lloyd