Forums > Queen - General Discussion > Freddie's ethnicity issue ?

forum rss feed
Author

cageyvet user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 2 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 23 Jan 09, 21:41 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Hello all from Canada eh!

I apologize if this topic is redundant - I just signed up to the site.

I have been reading much about Freddie lately and it seem that he elouded the subject of his india origins.  It has been speculated that he downplayed his past out of fear that it might affect record sales etc...

As a Canadian of Indian origin I wonder why Freddie would not be proud of his ethnicity.  I don't think anyone would care less about stuff like that.................

Cheers,

scaramouche this!
Saif user not visiting Queenzone.com

Royalty: 1109 posts

Posted: 24 Jan 09, 02:41 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

cageyvet wrote:

I have been reading much about Freddie lately and it seem that he elouded the subject of his india origins.  It has been speculated that he downplayed his past out of fear that it might affect record sales etc...

As a Canadian of Indian origin I wonder why Freddie would not be proud of his ethnicity.  I don't think anyone would care less about stuff like that.................

Cheers,

Hey, I'm from India too(I live in Calcutta). We may never know why he understated his Indian heritage but he's not the only one.
Barack Obama for instance is half-black and half-white, but he self-identifies as solely "African-American". Most Parsis I've known considered themselves Indian but I'm pretty sure you could find a few who still cling to their Persian roots, mainly the conservative ones. One of my former girlfriends(a Parsi) was taught Avestan prayers by her grandparents while she was young(she was damn hot). Her family visited Zoroastrian ruins in Iran annually and considered it their rightful homeland.