Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > Did Freddie have perfect pitch?

forum rss feed
Author

Gregsynth user not visiting Queenzone.com
Queen fan since 2005
Gregsynth
Deity: 3184 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 21 May 10, 17:50 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I know the guy wasn't perfect live (he was great though), but the fact that he could "play what he had heard on the radio" sparks a question: Did Freddie possess perfect pitch?

I always knew I was a star And now, the rest of the world seems to agree with me-Freddie Mercury
royopvp user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 4 posts

Posted: 22 May 10, 03:13 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

"Perfect" is a bit relative to everyone's ear. If you enjoy listening to crappy crowd recordings and judging from that I think I may have found your problem. If you have listened to the retail release of the '81 Montreal concert, either the CD version, or preferably the 5.1 Blu-Ray edition, that's what I like to call a perfect live performance (in terms of Freddie's vocal performance, as some people seem to want to understand something else).

Sebastian user not visiting Queenzone.com
Sebastian
Deity: 6327 posts

Posted: 22 May 10, 05:55 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

You don't need perfect pitch to play what you hear on the radio. Fred, AFAIK, only had relative pitch. A very well-trained one, though, enough to complement his genius.

John hated HS. Fred's fave singer was not PR. Roger didn't compose 'Innuendo.' Witness testimonies are often inaccurate. Scotland's not in England. 'Bo Rhap' hasn't got 180 voices.
andreas_mercury user not visiting Queenzone.com
andreas_mercury
Royalty: 1068 posts

Posted: 22 May 10, 12:10 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

another dumbfucking question from you and i should be surprised to be not even at that.

kosimodo user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 554 posts