Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > "Jazz" interior gatefold and recording equipment talk

forum rss feed
Author

kmidd user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 2 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 01 Jun 10, 00:37 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Hello All,

im wondering if anyone has a high resolution, or even just a good sized image of the interior gatefold from "Jazz," with the band taking a break in the live room of Mountain Studio...Im trying to figure out which microphones the band relied on in the studio...Ive only seen a handful of shots with a mic in them ("One Vision" behind the scenes film, Freddie's in front of a AKG 414 EB, Neumann U87's are on Rog's kit, Freddie live with his ever-present Shure Unisphere, "Somebody To Love" video harmonies in front of a Neumann U67 Or U87), and, as a musician/recording engineer, it's an extremely interesting topic!!

Thanks for your time and any help
TC

FriedChicken user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 10641 posts

Posted: 01 Jun 10, 18:47 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I'm also saddened by the fact that there is so little known about Queen working in the studio. For a couple of years I've been playing with the idea of writing a book. Or at least a couple of intersting articles about it.

They also rarely seemed to talk about their music in interviews.

"On the first day Pim & Niek created a heavenly occupation. Pim & Niek blessed it and named it 'Loosch'."

(Genesis 1:1)
Sebastian user not visiting Queenzone.com
Sebastian
Deity: 6328 posts

Posted: 01 Jun 10, 21:14 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

@kmidd: Would you care to take a look at my website? It hasn't got the answer you're looking for but maybe you can spot mistakes and make some valuable additions.

@Niek: Why don't you go ahead with the book project? It'd surely be interesting.