Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > The best / worst LP side

forum rss feed
Author

kozlorf user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 10 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 15 Feb 11, 03:57 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

It's quite common that people point out their favourite or most hated albums, but I think that choosing the best / worst LP side is somehow different. Actually, when most of the Queen albums came out, people used to listen and play separate LP sides rather than whole LPs - and it might have been, that they played one side many many times while never listening to the other.

My picks are (even if I don't consider these two albums as the best / the worst (Queen II and A King Of Magic are the respective ones)):
The best: Side B of Sheer Heart Attack - all the songs are different, but work well together, the opening and closing track have a common theme, so there's a feeling of a beginning and end of a whole; it somehow reminds me of Side B of Abbey Road; and no Roger Taylor song ;)
The worst: Side B of The Game: even if I consider Save Me and Sail Away as one of my personal favourites, the remaining songs are for me the biggest set of junk Queen ever produced; two of them are Roger Taylor songs ;)

eggy user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 3358 posts

Posted: 15 Feb 11, 07:03 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

The best side of music Queen produced is side B of Queen II.

The worst excluding Flash / Cosmos Rocks would be side B of The Game for me too, besides Save Me there isn't really anything that grabs me.

The Real Wizard user not visiting Queenzone.com
The Real Wizard
Deity: 18639 posts

Posted: 15 Feb 11, 10:09 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Give another listen to Sail Away Sweet Sister.  It's one of the best tracks Brian ever wrote.  But I can see how the rest of side B didn't turn your crank.