Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > Academic studies on Freddie Mercury's lyrics

forum rss feed
Author

TripletKick user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 7 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 01 Nov 11, 07:24 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Greetings fellow Queen fans,

I'm currently studying comparative literature and medical sciences in Dublin, Ireland. One essay that I am considering writing is about the lyrics of Freddie Mercury. I am particularly interested in the development of his themes from the early fantastical Pan-nymphet references and stylings, to the later more hedonistic and overtly-gay referenced themes of his lyrics. Basically, the essay would look at how Mercury's own personal journey of self-development and identity as a gay man is reflected in his lyrics, and how certain themes and references can be looked at in a larger context of sexual identity in art and literature.

Does anyone know of academic papers which have looked at this kind of thing? My searches haven't yet surfaced anything relevant. It's early days yet, but any constructive suggestions would be appreciated.

Keywords: Queer Theory, Sexuality Studies, the Artist's Life, Masculinity Theory.

And before anyone gets in there with something negative or cynical, I'll be the first to admit that Freddie dismissed his work as being made by a "musical prostitute". But that doesn't exclude it from serious analysis.

Looking forward to hearing your considered responses.

Cheers,
TripletKick

Micrówave user not visiting Queenzone.com
Delilah, on Medium Power
Micrówave
Deity: 7037 posts

Posted: 01 Nov 11, 11:16 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

But Freddie wasn't gay.  It was just an act for the show.

CosmosTales user not visiting Queenzone.com
CosmosTales
Bohemian: 106 posts

Posted: 01 Nov 11, 11:35 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Reply:But Freddie wasn't gay.  It was just an act for the show.