Wow.....I found a funny little satirical article, posted it for a laugh....and then this.
I note you edited your original reply (since I was correcting your 3rd down statement).
If you read the article.....Cundiff cannot see the down markers. He was paying attention to the scoreboard, which showed '3rd Down'. There had been some confusion on Boldin's catch, as he fumbled it forward and one official signaled '1st dwon'. But....a forward fumble goes back to where the runner was tackled with under two minutes left in a half (the rule goes back to the Raiders 'Holy Roller' against the Chargers in the 70s).
I never made an excuse for what happened. They should have called time-out. But sh*t happens in sports.
Maybe he was distracted by this http://www.yardbarker.com/nfl/articles/kansas_fans_use_billy_cundiff_taunt_during_opponents_free_throws_picture/9551420
Thanks for recapping the play sequence, which I was very aware of before your post. I could say that there should have been pass interference, or illegal contact downfield on 3rd down (watch the replay), but I won't.
The kick didn't cost the Ravens the win. It cost them a possible chance for a win in OT.
jayzus....now I kinda hope the Pats lose. And that Joe's pipes sound good with Madonna and Killer Queen.
"Discretionary posting is the better part of valor." Falstaff