Forums > Queen - General Discussion > clarification of Thor Arnold's role in Freddie's life

forum rss feed
Author

thundergod user not visiting Queenzone.com
thundergod
Royalty: 1716 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 07 Jul 17, 15:56 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Hello fellow Queen fans,
This is my first time here. I am the same "Thor Arnold" listed with certain Freddie Mercury articles and photographs. I am now 62 years old and alive and well and living near the beach in San Diego California. Half of my life was in New York City where I met Freddie in the early winter of 1980. We became very close friends during his two+ years of living in New York. We stayed friends (although more casual) through the Germany days up until his unfortunate death. My last visit to see him was in London, about six months prior to his passing. He and his touring crew and personal crew from the Queen Over America tour (1980) became friends with not only me, but with my three best friends of that time period, namely: Joseph Scardilli (deceased), John Murphy (deceased) and Lee Nolan who is alive and living now in Palm Springs California, two and 1/2 hours away from San Diego. Freddie was one of the most sincere, down to earth, good natured and caring individuals I have ever known. There was never a "star attitude" toward his friends...He wanted to be part of our world and gladly gave us many moments of entry into his. I miss him tremendously.

matt z user not visiting Queenzone.com
this message is...
matt z
Deity: 4482 posts

Posted: 07 Jul 17, 17:26 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Welcome to QZ if it is indeed you, Thor.

I'm certain you'll find ample questions from participants on this site. As for me, I can't think of many

Except this: