Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > Freddie's cigarettes

forum rss feed
Author

Padre Wu user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 12 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 08 Feb 05, 05:01 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Do you think cigarettes had influence on Freddie's voice?

Serry... user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 8271 posts

Posted: 08 Feb 05, 09:57 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Yes.

As I remember he smoked light and very mild cigarettes, I can search for the title - I have it somewhere in my computer.

bobo the chimp user not visiting Queenzone.com
bobo the chimp
Deity: 12700 posts

Posted: 08 Feb 05, 11:56 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Alcohol and cigarettes are technically a no-no if you want to maintain your voice. Obviously Fred paid no mind to that advice - swigging vodka on his last recording sessions and whatnot. But hey - he was still the best singer around, so yeah

"Your not funny, your not a good musician, theres a difference between being funny and being an idiot, you obviously being the latter" - Dave R Fuller
Sonja user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 931 posts

Posted: 08 Feb 05, 12:10 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Zebonka12 wrote:

Alcohol and cigarettes are technically a no-no if you want to maintain your voice. Obviously Fred paid no mind to that advice - swigging vodka on his last recording sessions and whatnot. But hey - he was still the best singer around, so yeah

He had quit smoking a few years before he died though.
In one of the books (either Phoebe's or Jim's) it says that he also needed something to play around with his hands, he couldn't keep them still and that was another reason for his smoking.

"This world may be another planet's hell."

- Aldous Huxley
Jjeroen user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 4781 posts

Posted: 08 Feb 05, 13:12 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote