Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > Where and why did Queen lose their ambition?

forum rss feed
Author

7 user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 3 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 09 Feb 05, 00:09 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

(Hello, I am new here and I am 18 years old. Queen were my first favorite band when I was in 5th grade and I love everything they do. With that said...)

I was listening to things like Ogre Battle, March of the Black Queen, Death on Two Legs, and why not, Bohemian Rhapsody and I see that these were awesome compositions. And then I move forward in Queen's timeline and I listen to songs like "It's a Kind of Magic" and even "Body Language" and I think: where did their ambition go? Why did they lose it?

Why did Freddie stop creating these masterpieces? Now that he's gone (RIP) sadly, we cannot know this for sure. But really, I would like to know what happened?

Thanks.

Anything is Obtainable
foxxy_moron user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 618 posts

Posted: 09 Feb 05, 00:40 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

They just changed their style to suit the new age.. i love alot of their newer stuff

~_*-+_Let us cling together as the years go by..._+-*_~
Farlander user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 662 posts

Posted: 09 Feb 05, 02:16 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I think they unfortunately learned how to write hits. Good for success, bad for art. It was probably for the best in the end, but it did result in a lack of innovation in later years for them, I think.

Sonja user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 931 posts

Posted: 09 Feb 05, 02:36 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

First, Welcome to Queenzone! :-)

Well, I don't think they've lost their ambition to write good songs nor was there a lack of innovation. They just grew with the time... Like they changed their outfits and style they also changed their music.