Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > Freddie's piano playing vs Brian's

forum rss feed
Author

The King Of Rhye user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 2259 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 29 Mar 05, 20:04 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I've been listening to an awful lot of Queen lately (oddly enough), especially live performances...and I was thinking about the difference in Freddie and Brian's playing of the piano....now, I am no keyboard expert myself (I'm more of a guitar player) but it seems to me that Freddie's style is a more flowing, where as Brian's is more.....mechanical or deliberate, I'd say......not to say that he's bad or anythng , just different.....anybody have any thoughts on this?

I'll take you to the Seven Seas of Rhye
Lester Burnham user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 5870 posts

Posted: 29 Mar 05, 20:11 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I would think that too until I heard the live stuff. 'Save Me' and 'Teo Torriate' (did Brian play piano on any other songs live?) sound really distinctive, and you can almost tell that it's Brian and not Freddie. I actually like hearing Brian on piano and wish he would do it more often, but I think he finally reached his peak on 'No One But You' which, oddly enough, was a tribute to Freddie's style.

doremi user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 5193 posts

Posted: 29 Mar 05, 20:19 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Brian plays piano on "Save Me"? The piano on that is just stunning. What kind of piano? When did he play on "Save Me" in concert, you don't mean the record...

(also one of my favorite songs too)

xyz
Scott_Mercury user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 704 posts

Posted: 29 Mar 05, 20:22 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Arlene,

Freddie plays piano on the studio version of "Save Me".

Live...Brian starts it...Freddie finishes.