Forums > Queen - General Discussion > Bands That Sound Like Queen

forum rss feed
Author

peanut_pie user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 10 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 04 May 05, 03:39 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Hey Guys! I'm new to the Board -- Thought I'd start a topic.

As everyone here knows, Queen produces a huge, thick, flamboyant sound that is more elegant than
a Jaguar automobile and can at the same time blow your eardrums out -- so who sounds similar?

Here's my list:
1. Toto -- mindless ear candy, inane lyrics
(revolving mostly around chicks whose names end in
'a') -- but a great sound -- Lukather is a great guitarist -- Operatic Vocals -- Multiple Song Writers --and they were able to capture a great world beat sound.

2. Boston --(Remember them?) Infectious 1st LP
back in the day -- Tom Sholtz layering guitar on guitar creating great Brian May type harmonies, and Brad Delp(?)'s vocals were phenomenal, absolutely soaring on 'More Than a Feeling' and the likes.

3. Kansas -- Don't know much of their music--Only that the 'Carry On My7 Wayward Son' could definitely have been a Queen number.

q*ueenie^^43
father to my son user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 375 posts

Posted: 04 May 05, 03:44 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

sorry to say but none of the above bands sound like queen , the only band i can think of is QUEEN .

word goes around
The King Of Rhye user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 2259 posts

Posted: 04 May 05, 04:02 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

It might be obvious but I have to say it......The Darkness! I can listen to Permission To Land and just about point out which songs could have been written by which Queen member.....hehe.....great album, anyway....

I'll take you to the Seven Seas of Rhye

Posted: 04 May 05, 04:20 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

the darkness influnced by queen yes , sounding like them no.