Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > The best, and worst, bits of the FM Tribute concert

forum rss feed
Author

fat_buddino user not visiting Queenzone.com

Rocker: 31 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 20 May 05, 14:50 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Apologies if this has been discussed previously. I'm fairly new to all this and was just interested in what everyone else thought. By the way this is the un-cut as shown on TV version I'm talking about here not the crappy edited to shite video/DVD release.

Highlights of the Freddie Tribute gig for me were,

1. Extreme medley
2. Bowie/Ian Hunter set
3. George Michael (goes without saying)
4. James Hetfield doing Stone Cold Crazy was scarily good! Suited his voice but didn't he look kind of lost without a guitar!?
5. Daltrey

Worst,

1. Bob Plant and Innuendo/Kashmir. Bitterly disappointed. Don't get me wrong, I think Bob Plant is ace but substituting the 'wandering minstrel' guitar section for Kashmir did nothing for me and lets face, he spooned the whole song (if I'm blunt about it)
2. Bowie doing the Lords Prayer. Lovely thought but I can't help but shrivel with embarassment everytime I watch it
3. George Michael preaching. CRINGE!!
4. Liz Taylor being... well... like an embarrasing Nan
5. Paul Young. Nuff said
6. Liza. Can't help but think that when she walked on, everyone went 'Who?'

What the highlights and bad points for you guys?

Discuss...

The Nasty Queenies are back! What do you think of that!?
Scott_Mercury user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 704 posts

Posted: 21 May 05, 09:06 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Anything having to do with Asshole Rose that night, in my opinion, ate total ass.

Asshole is passable in singing G-N-R songs.... but Asshole filling in for Freddie is like your wife telling you that Michael Jackson is going to be taking care of your "bedroom duties" from now on.

I thought Robert Plant's CLTCL was weak.
George Michael was great.