Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > Queen - ever biggest band in world?

forum rss feed
Author

Breadman user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 8 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 21 Sep 05, 14:15 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

What periods, if any, could Queen have been considered to be the 'Biggest Band in the World'? I am guessing that any such periods would be within 1979 - 1986?

Maz user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 5799 posts

Posted: 21 Sep 05, 14:16 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

In the world? 1980-1981.

DJ's the man we love the most
Breadman user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 8 posts

Posted: 21 Sep 05, 14:21 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

That period (80,81) would have seen them popular in America too. But I would also consider times when they were not popular in America. Like they probably could have claimed that title around the time of the Live Aid performance?

teleman user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 740 posts

Posted: 21 Sep 05, 14:33 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Breadman wrote:

That period (80,81) would have seen them popular in America too. But I would also consider times when they were not popular in America. Like they probably could have claimed that title around the time of the Live Aid performance?

Considering the value of the North American market I doubt Queen could be considered the biggest band on the planet after 80/81. However it is a testament to Queen's appeal that they were so successful even without the North American market.

Posted: 21 Sep 05, 15:58 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Wouldn't being the biggest band in the ''world'' almost necessitate that they were popular in the North American market? If so, then any period after 1982 would disqualify Queen.