Forums > Queen - General Discussion > Queen album with the best drum sound?

forum rss feed
Author

Fairlight user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 2 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 30 Nov 05, 19:08 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Ok, here´s one just for freaks:

Which studio album has the best drum sound?
What do you think? And why?

I´d prefer "The Game" . Listen to "Dragon Attack", it sounds so fresh and close, because Mack did approach a totally different way of recording than RTB or the engineers in British studios of the 70s.

Strangely, all Roger Talor solo albums (except "Fun In Space") have a rather non-spectacular drum sound.

Togg user not visiting Queenzone.com
Togg
Deity: 2390 posts

Posted: 01 Dec 05, 03:54 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

For me the best sound is on the classic 'A night at the opera'In particular on 'You're my best friend'

The roll from floor toms to high toms is wonderful and totally captures the depth of the toms.

The early albums are all great but ANATO get it for me, however, I also love the sound on Jazz, totally different, yet fits with the album.

"It is better to sit in silence and have people think you're a fool, then to open your mouth and remove all doubt"
AmeriQueen user not visiting Queenzone.com

Royalty: 1072 posts

Posted: 01 Dec 05, 04:12 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Wow, you stumped me! Great topic!

Queen 1 comes to mind. I am thinking of both the bad ass ending to 'Great King Rat' and the opening to 'Liar'.

'The Game' is certainly a possibility for the reasons already mentioned.

'The Miracle' is another superior job by Roger.

Ultimately, his best work to me would be 'Fun In Space'

If all releases count, I will go with 'Return of the Champions' which features the best drum solo I have ever heard, besides two nights before when he went crazy in Birmingham.

AmeriQueen user not visiting Queenzone.com

Royalty: 1072 posts