Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > Aric performs '39

forum rss feed
Author

tenchijin2 user not visiting Queenzone.com

Champion: 96 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 02 Apr 06, 16:06 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I had some free time this weekend, so I finished my cover of '39. It's mostly true to the original, but I didn't do anything really fancy with the final chorus (the phasing effect on the record, for instance) and I put the vocals around the stereo spectrum just how I wanted, not the way the record has them.

Enjoy!

http://home.comcast.net/~tenchijin/39.wma

Stay tuned, Love of My Life is coming soon!

Aric

Aric Keith
VoxAC30BM user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 8 posts

Posted: 02 Apr 06, 16:42 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Fine work !!

There can be only one
Adam Baboolal user not visiting Queenzone.com
Adam Baboolal
Deity: 4986 posts

Posted: 02 Apr 06, 19:28 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Sounded pretty decent till that bass came in. It's funny, cause it sounds somehow comical along with the beat. Sorry! Don't know why it makes me feel like that, but it does.

Nice guitar bits here and there. The vocals for the most part are a mixed bag for me. Just sometimes pitchy and not always with a confident delivery.

Overall, pretty cool. But I'd probably change the bass and kick sound.

Peace,
Adam.

Posted: 02 Apr 06, 20:50 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

The bass is just a fender bass played almost note for note the same as the original bass line.

Same with the kick, although it's a little 'snappy' for my taste.

For reference, Adam, do you have something you've recorded which I could listen to?

Aric Keith
FriedChicken user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 10641 posts

Posted: 03 Apr 06, 05:21 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Sounds pretty good..
Electric guitars played a bit too choppy for my taste.