Forums > Queen - General Discussion > Where does Roger rank?

forum rss feed
Author

AmeriQueen user not visiting Queenzone.com

Royalty: 1072 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 12 Jun 06, 20:48 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

As a drummer, where would you put Roger Taylor amongst the greatest? The popular choice of greatest always seems to be Neil Pert(spelling?) of Rush. I admit he's amazing as hell, but this past year's tour has made me feel comfortable putting Roger as my top choice. Who are the drum gods? I'm no expert, but here's my list:

1. Roger Taylor
2. John Bonham
3. Tony Thompson(The Power Station)
4. Budgie(Siouxsie + Banshees, The Creatures)
5. Rick Allen(with 2 arms, still amazing with 1)
6. Roger Taylor(Duran Duran)
7. Cozy Powell
8. drummer for White Lion
9. Lars Ulrich
10. Will Calhoun(Living Colour)

its_a_hard_life 26994 user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 11046 posts

Posted: 12 Jun 06, 21:13 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Roger's top for me but so is Keith Moon also...Cozy Powel ROCKS!

mike hunt user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 2770 posts

Posted: 13 Jun 06, 03:59 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

that's a good question, Where does Mr Talyor rank among rock drummers?...In my opinion, neil peart, keith moon and some others are better. Roger is probably is in the top 20.

Togg user not visiting Queenzone.com
Togg
Deity: 2390 posts

Posted: 13 Jun 06, 04:10 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

This is always a tough one, Roger is my favorite drummer, but that is more to do with his flare and style than ablility. He would always be at the top of my favorite list, but if you want to go by technical ability, the list might go like this;

Buddy Rich
Gene Krupa
Steve Gadd
Neil Peart
John Bonham
Ginger Baker
Ed Shaugnessy
Terry Bozzio
John Blackwell
Roger Taylor
Thomas Lang
Carter Beauford
Kenny Arnoff
Stewart Copeland
Phil Collins
Liberty De Vito
Steve Ferrone