Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > George Michael - suitable frontman?

forum rss feed
Author

s37d user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 2 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 19 Sep 06, 02:03 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

After hearing George Michael perform Somebody to Love at the tribute concert, it's obvious that he's the most suitable replacement for Freddie. This isn't only because of his voice, but also him adding the counter-heterosexual element to the group that used to exist may revive some of the old chemistry. Does the group have any plans to do any touring with him? What do you guys think of George as Queen's frontman? I personally would love to hear him sing some of the songs, like Love of My Life, Who Wants to Live Forever, Friends Will Be Friends. I often listen to Michael's rendition of Somebody To Love instead of the original Queen version because of how well he sings it, something I wouldn't bother doing for any other singer at the tribute concert.

FriedChicken user not visiting Queenzone.com

Deity: 10641 posts

Posted: 19 Sep 06, 04:34 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

No. Since I doubt he can sing stuff like Hammer to Fall or Tie your mother Down

"On the first day Pim & Niek created a heavenly occupation. Pim & Niek blessed it and named it 'Loosch'."

(Genesis 1:1)
Togg user not visiting Queenzone.com
Togg
Deity: 2393 posts

Posted: 19 Sep 06, 05:34 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Sorry I can't agree here at all, whilst he could sing the softer stuff his voice is just too weak to handle the heavey things,but apart from that he just can't entertain the crowd in the way Freddie did. No Paul is a way better front man, George is better suited to being a solo artist where he can sing everything in a whisper.

Now if you what gay, good singer and great at entertaining try Elton.

Not that i'd want to see him fronting Queen, but much better than George.