Forums > Queen - General Discussion > A Day At The (Japanese) Races???

forum rss feed
Author

breathe user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 9 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 23 Sep 06, 12:30 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I absolutely ADORE Queen (obviously) and am trying to collect all the digital masters. However I have purchased A Day At The Races (released by Parlophone and made in Holland) and Windows Media Player instantly mistakes it for a Japanese import released by Toshiba? Anybody else had this???

Deacon Fan user not visiting Queenzone.com
on vacation
Deacon Fan
Royalty: 1757 posts

Posted: 23 Sep 06, 14:07 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I'm no expert on this, but it apparently finds album info based on common traits. I've had WMP and EAC find album info on *copies* of discs I've made, as long as I didn't add bonus tracks.

So I think it's more to do with number of tracks, track length, etc. And it doesn't necessarily have anything to do with the actual edition of the album if the track list is exactly the same.

Posted: 23 Sep 06, 18:29 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Ooooooooooh... but there isn't actually a matching CD...on the [UK] ones, the tracks are in the wrong order? Anyone else had the same troubles? Sorry...I'm a geek 8)

queen mercury 33542 user not visiting Queenzone.com

Bohemian: 576 posts

Posted: 23 Sep 06, 22:13 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I'm not sure which cd I have of a day at the races, whether if if it's a japan import, but I do know that sometimes albums in winamp don't come up with matches that I put in there. The first song should be tie your mother down.
Hope that helps.

NA
JoxerTheDeityPirate user not visiting Queenzone.com
JoxerTheDeityPirate
Deity: 6272 posts

Posted: 24 Sep 06, 07:01 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote