Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > How did Brian's guitar-playing improve and/or change over the years?

forum rss feed
Author

carboengine user not visiting Queenzone.com

Royalty: 1283 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 25 Sep 06, 11:27 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

I am not a musician - just curious to get some expert opinions.

Yes, it was a worthwhile experience.
bobo the chimp user not visiting Queenzone.com
bobo the chimp
Deity: 12700 posts

Posted: 25 Sep 06, 12:27 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Well you know.... this won't be an expert opinion mind you....

I think he maintained a pretty fair whack of individuality over the years - and when he did appropriate different styles from other guitarists, he kept his own stamp on them.

Fretboard tapping, for instance, wasn't something he nicked from Eddie Van Halen like a million other guitarists - he actually came upon it in much more interesting circumstances, and to his credit it doesn't sound at all like a 'cloned' skill when he does it.

His speed and accuracy (if such things are important?) were pretty consistent over the years - observe the fast descending runs in Jesus, for instance.

I suppose a lesser guitarist would get penis envy in the late 80's when you have guys like Jason Becker sweeping like janitors all over the joint... it's interesting to see Brian dabble in sweeping in "Was It All Worth It" without going overboard and trying to do what every other guitarist was doing in those days.

Yah, you know - I think he's been pretty level-headed, creative, a little adaptive.... pretty true to his own style. But I may be wrong, as I said this ain't an 'expert' opinion - just the words of a fellow player!

"Your not funny, your not a good musician, theres a difference between being funny and being an idiot, you obviously being the latter" - Dave R Fuller
Sebastian user not visiting Queenzone.com
Sebastian
Deity: 6326 posts