Forums > Queen - Serious Discussion > The resemblance between Queen and Muse

forum rss feed
Author

All_that_Jazz user not visiting Queenzone.com

Be Gentle, I'm a newbie: 9 posts
add to buddy list send PM

Posted: 18 Oct 06, 03:00 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Hey People,

I have been a Queen fan since some 16 years now, but always open minded towards other bands, specifically those with some artistic quality, such as Radiohead. I had always liked Muse since their first albums, but I regarded them mostly as a quitar band making decent songs. This changed with their last album, although some more synths and dance influences are noticable, Black Holes and Revelations has some tracks on it, that after a few rounds of playing made me start thinking; "wow, this is good"! Further more, I started to notice that some of the work on this album bears resemblance with the work of Queen. Especially the track Knights of Cydonia, which has a strong Queen II feel over it. I never read though, that Michael Bellamy from Muse has ever stated to be influenced by Queen. Reviews of concerts do make the comparison between the bands. What are your opinions of this? Is Muse artiscally worth being compared to Queen? Or was their last album with brilliant tracks such as the eralier mentioned Knighths of Cydonia, City of Delusion and HooDoo, just a lucky shot?

The Fairy King user not visiting Queenzone.com
The Fairy King
Deity: 8686 posts

Posted: 18 Oct 06, 03:12 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

It's Matthew Bellamy and yes they deserve the comparisation cuz they're brilliant. The only similarities i can think of is that they take risks, the harmonies and the groundbreaking shows.

Killed by drones.

Posted: 18 Oct 06, 04:35 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

Matthew, off course, I knew that :) Typo

The Fairy King

Posted: 18 Oct 06, 07:34 Edit this post Reply to this post Reply with Quote

All_that_Jazz wrote: