News > Wembley Wizards

Added on 04-Aug-2011

25 years on, Queen are set to release a dvd package of their legendary 1986 sell out Wembley Stadium shows

Reported by Bruce Henne

Queen’s DVD release of their Live at Wembley Stadium show is getting the 25th Anniversary treatment.

Due on September 5 – which would have been Freddie Mercury’s 65th birthday – the updated edition DVD of Queen’s legendary 1986 concerts at the London venue will come as a 2 disc set featuring previously unreleased footage and brand new bonus features.

Queen played two legendary sellout shows at Wembley over one weekend, on Friday 11th and Saturday 12th July 1986. The 25th Anniversary edition contains, for the first time, both the Friday and Saturday night concerts in their entirety.

“The Wembley concerts in 1986 were the pinnacle for us” says Brian May. “We were at our height band-wise, and Freddie had developed this phenomenal way of dealing with stadium audiences. Being back home in London playing two sell-out nights was such a big, big occasion for us. None of us realized that this would be almost the last time we played together…”

Queen’s 1986 Magic Tour had been their most successful to date. Regenerated and reinvigorated by their triumph at Live Aid almost exactly a year earlier, the band were on a 26-date tour of the UK and Europe and, after a month out of the country, returned home to London to play two defining concerts at Wembley.

“Wembley Stadium was such a special place,” says Roger. “Having played it as part of Live Aid and to come back and play it again was such a blast.”

Extras on the DVD include ‘The Magic Tour’, a short feature containing brand new interviews with Brian May and Roger Taylor filmed this year. They reflect back on what was to be their final tour with their familiar intelligence, honesty and brilliant wit and humour. They explain in depth how they would approach planning their concerts and they also reflect on the poignancy of the shows which were to become among the last few performances with Freddie.

QUEEN – Live At Wembley – 25th Anniversary Edition


Live At Wembley Stadium – Saturday 07-12-1986

01. One Vision

02. Tie Your Mother Down

03. In The Lap Of The Gods … Revisited

04. Seven Seas Of Rhye

05. Tear It Up

06. A Kind Of Magic

07. Under Pressure

08. Another One Bites The Dust

09. Who Wants To Live Forever

10. I Want To Break Free

11. Impromptu

12. Brighton Rock Solo

13. Now I’m Here

14. Love Of My Life

15. Is This The World We Created

16. (You’re So Square) Baby I Don’t Care

17. Hello Mary Lou (Goodbye Heart)

18. Tutti Frutti

19. Gimme Some Lovin’ *

20. Bohemian Rhapsody

21. Hammer To Fall

22. Crazy Little Thing Called Love

23. Big Spender *

24. Radio Ga Ga

25. We Will Rock You

26. Friends Will Be Friends

27. We Are The Champions

28. God Save The Queen

* Saturday 12 July 1986 concert only


Live At Wembley Stadium – Friday 07-11-1986

Bonus Features:

• The Magic Tour – approx 12min feature containing new interview filmed with Brian and Roger in 2011.

• The Wembley Weekend – approx 25min feature where Brian and Roger describe what went into these legendary concerts

• Rehearsal – Secretly filmed footage from the bands rehearsal for the Magic Tour.

Submitted by: mickyparise

What do you think?

Post Reply